Liver little!

After a week spent eating good things, Saturday was a harrowing I-don’t-know-how-many-hours at the airport, and Sunday night was sleepless. Now the problem is my body’s over here but my soul is hanging out somewhere west and yet to join it.  Meaning I can’t do any real thinking, and I’m not aware or alert enough to do anything but blend chicken livers.  Which is something, at least. Because you can almost not spell “party” without “pâté”!  Or actually: You can’t spell “parties” without “pâté”!  Except more accurately it’s: You can’t spell “pârtiés” without “pâté”!  ANYWAY, this is my favorite recipe. It’s easy and zombie-proof.

After the pâté my brain remained hopeless so I thought: Why not get the beef bourguignon over with, too?  It’s for a thing tomorrow eve, along with the liver purée.  The bourguignon required 2/3 of a bottle of wine, and the rest I incorporated into dinner just now: red wine braised lentils— Deborah Madison’s genius idea, not mine (from Vegetarian Suppers From Deborah Madison’s Kitchen).

Not pictured: the lentil mountain that was my real dinner. Also: the many milligrams of melatonin I am going to eat, so help me God.

Finally, if you ever need to remove rust from a stainless steel pot all it takes is baking soda and some water. Then you rub aluminum foil all over it.  Let something rust and try it!  It is magic.  It’s one of those tricks you learn and can’t believe you ever survived without (e.g., the best way to retrieve bits of egg shell is with another egg shell).

March 15, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

